Who wants to go on a journaling journey with me?

I love journaling and I think that is why I also love to write on a weblog. I remember writing on my first weblog just like I remember writing in my first journal. My Dad gave me my first journal and I carried it around everywhere with me. I am amazed that no one ever found it and read it, because it went everywhere with me. To school, to swimming lessons (well, minus the swimming part!) – but yes, the main point to this was that, that journal went everywhere with me! It was almost like my best friend. It was there whenever I needed to talk to someone. The things I was too embarressed to talk to anyone else about – could be confided in the blank sheets that called my name. If I was mad, sad, happy, tired – I kept returning to the book. And with the close of every back cover I felt somewhat different than I had when I started that journal. And that is when a feeling of accomplishment set over me. I had finished a journal and next time I was to the city (since I lived in the country) I could get a new journal.

Remembering

When I read back over my journals from the past, it almost feels like I am reading someone else’s journal. Almost like they are preaching to me and know where I have been. All of my journals start out with two simple words.

Dear Jesus,

Dear Lord,

It is almost like when Anne Frank wrote in her journals, she wrote “Dear Kitty” so it’s different with everyone. But I felt that when I was writing “Dear Lord” or “Dear Jesus” that what I was actually saying was being heard and that it wasn’t just black words on a white sheet of paper, but that they had a deeper and better connection to who I am as a child of God.

The Right Journal

Just as I can only write with certain pens the journal makes all the different. I don’t like bulky journals or heavy ones. They have to be the right size. Big enough to enjoy writing in and small enough that I could stick it in my bag and bring it anyplace. And of course I am not talking about tiny notebooks – those bug me too.

The Plan: The Journal Journey

I have a plan and I want to know if you are in? This plan is a journal journey! You may wonder what a journal journey is? But I am going to hold a giveaway for this journal below and how ever many comments I get and shares will win one of these journals. Which is exciting, because look at them- I am jealous… I want one. haha…

Choice One

Choice 2

So you ask, how can I win one of those amazing journals?

This contest will be taking place this coming week. I will be giving away 2 journals of your choice for the prizes, but in order to stay in the running you must:

  1. You must be a follower of my blog! :)
  2. Share the blog with your friends on facebook, twitter, your blog, and other sites during the week! (I will get notifications that you have shared so, I will know!)
  3. Comment. Answer the questions & ask questions.
  4. And last but not least, take part in conversation in the comments. The posts will be showing how to dig deep in our journalling and how that helps us in our daily walk!
  5. The contest will begin today and will run till the 29th of September! :)

    Good LUCK! :) May the Journals be in your favor! :D

How About You?

  1. Do you like to journal?
  2. Do you think of it as more of a spiritual thing or is it more of a book when you just write your feelings and thoughts?
  3. What are some tips that help you when you are writing in a journal?

 

13 thoughts on “Who wants to go on a journaling journey with me?

  1. Do you like to journal?

    There are some times when I like to journal, and some times when I don’t. My ability to bleed on the page when expressing my own feelings is limited. There are some entries in my journal that I let everything on my mind out, but then there are others that I just can’t release what is in my mind.

    Do you think of it as more of a spiritual thing or is it more of a book when you just write your feelings and thoughts?

    I believe that there is a both spiritual and a book aspect of it. Writing to Jesus is a great way to communicate with Him, but a journal can also just be a place where you can get your emotions out without anyone seeing it.

    What are some tips that help you when you are writing in a journal?

    As I am not a constant journalist, unfortunately I do not have any tips!

    • It’s awesome that you have a journal! I totally know the feeling that you have about journaling sometimes all of your feelings or how sometimes it feels like there is nothing to tell.

      I totally agree with you that the journal is a great place to get all your emotions out in a way that someone will never see your thoughts, but I think that is where having written my journal entries to Jesus, I have the amazing feeling that I am not alone in those crazy emotions and thoughts.

      That is just the beauty of how different people are.

  2. Oh I love that Tree Journal! So Cool. For me having a Journal is:
    always on the hunt for finding the perfect one to write in. That is what excited me and finishing one! Mine ends up with sayings, bible verses, prayers for people, bubbles and lots of drawings.
    It is part of that dumping the mind and freeing the spirit!

    • Isn’t the tree journal amazing too? I found it on Etsy! I would have offered it as a prize here but lets just say it was a bit expensive! But I would love a tree journal like that someday! haha…

      I definitely agree with you on the hunt to find the perfect one… because if it isn’t the perfect one, then it’s hard to finish writing in it. I believe it has to be easy to open as well! :)

      Awesome that journals are a good place to just dump and free the spirit! I like that saying!

  3. Pingback: The First Day of Fall 2012 | Create~Inspire

  4. Okay. My brain is freezing. Migraine. But I’ll try to remember as many things as I can. First, I follow you on FB. Second, I’m commenting. 3,4,and 5), I’m talking journaling. I LOVE journaling. I’d go nuts without it. The main thing I journal are sermon notes. I love being able to go back to read a particular quote or way the preacher phrased a very helpful point. I’m a little more leery of journaling my innermost thoughts and feelings. I’m always afraid someone will end up reading it and its nothing I want people to see. Some things aren’t meant for people to read. When I write in a journal, I don’t worry so much about correct spelling and grammar. I just get it down before I forget it. Sixth, I LOVE the second choice journal!!!!! I would SO use it for something special! Seventh, I’m tweeting this. :D

    • Thank you for tweeting this post! :) Yes, I too have written the sermon notes down in my diary before too. It’s a great place to do it. Also another nice thing is that many people don’t have to feel constrained with good grammar and spelling – the journal is a safe place hidden from that. :) haha… I know, aren’t those journals neat? The second one is pretty cool! :) haha

      • That’s always been a fear of mine too! When I was little a few of mine had a little lock and key! That is the totally awesome thing about the two journals I am giving away! They both have a lock and key!

    • Awesome Stephanie!! I know what you mean, I love looking back at them over the years as well! There is just something so comforting about reading back over your words – almost like they aren’t yours anymore. :)

  5. Yep, I enjoy it. I probably don’t do it as much as I should, but when I do, I find myself writing furiously and time flies like little else. (Did that sound like a bad take off of a Dos Equis ad: I don’t always journal, but when I do, I like to use the journal I got from Devin LOL).

    After my oldest son died, I started journaling. It’s certainly an intense situation, as well as freeing. To be able to write in any way, any voice, any feelings is a gift to oneself.

    I like to doodle a lot too, usually geometric stuff, but also little people and circle clusters.

Leave a Reply

