Thoughts… (Man, I think a lot!!)

As I wrote under the Writing Journey OZ page… that I want to write at least 1000 words a day as most writers and authors write a certain amount daily to have their quota – I decided that I would write some today! So, today I washed all my clothing and hung it out on the porch to dry. I really have been thinking a lot about how I got used to all the people I have been seeing daily or at least weekly here. The Germans that I have gotten so close to, The Aussies who have made this place home for me, and of course a boyfriend (and his family) who has done so many amazing things for me. I am going to miss people so much! God is telling me each day not to think about it and to just live each day, by day. It’s harder said than done but it’s a good thing to do. I don’t know how anything will be bearable once I am back in the States.

And of course when I left the States I was afraid of not meeting people or that I wouldn’t be able to follow the Australian Accent very well… when I have practically heard the accent so much that I don’t recognize it overly anymore! I was a quiet little American girl from Minnesota – one of the most random States in America… People elsewhere in the States usually think that we have accents where we pronounce our A’s and our O’s long. (like Minnesoooooda!) and they think we have such harsh winters that we have Igloos and can’t go outside in the winter (Once when I was in the South, they asked me how I get my groceries in the winter. Like… really?)… but in fact it is a land where we do go out in the winter. I have lived their my whole life (and to tell you the truth I am still not used to it!) that is until I came to Australia and have lived here for exactly 5 months (on the 17th of this month) and I am blown away at how much I love it. Just walking to school the sun shines down and I looove that warming feeling!

One thing I thought about the past week was, well maybe it was God that gave me the idea… He was like “Devin, do you need all the stuff that is sitting, awaiting you in your room back home?” and you know what? I don’t think I do need ALL that stuff. Here I have been living on the other side of the world for about 5 months and I am living out of 2 HUGE suitcases and one carry on suitcase. Just shows you how much life can be simplified and really how much you need.Like it made me think that I could just give/throw away half of that stuff because I haven’t used it for 5 months and i probably wont use it when I am back. So, it’s useless! :P Plus, it would be way easier than going through ALL of it!

I am filling out the graduation application for this Spring 2011. I want to get done with school so that I can do something else. I really like design/photography/and writing so it would be a wonderful thing to do while traveling. I know that much. And another thing is that I know God has a plan and that everything happens for a reason. I went through everything I went through to get here… to Australia. I am here in Australia for a reason. I went through Drama earlier in the semester for a reason, and I met amazing friends and a great guy for a reason. Just to amazing how there is a reason for absolutely everything.But, yes I plan to graduate on May 13th, so I hope that works out! :) Be Blessed Wonderful People, Devin Berglund

Leave a Reply

