Life and (from and to the ends of the earth…)

‎”I took you from the ends of the earth, from it’s farthest corners I called you. I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you. So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:9-10

(this makes me think…is there an ends of the earth? I take this verse as that I went from one side of the world to another… I think that is probably what the writer meant. It’s lovely knowing that I was chosen!!)

I was talking to my Mom yesterday on facebook (good ol’ facebook) because a good friend of mine recently passed away. She was an exchange student from Bulgaria. She studied at my high school when I was probably like 13. A very influential friend at that time in my life.

I guess she is my first close friend to have passed away. It’s a weird feeling to know that she isn’t here any more. That she had been at a time, but isn’t any longer. It’s strange how the clock just ticks on even when people die. I always think about that when someone dies. about an old rusty pocket watch ticking and tocking its way around.

But, my Mom and I were talking about how life is a gift and that we need to take everyday as the gift that it really is. because God has given us one more day. I am thankful for that. But, I have still yet to find the answer to why things like that happen and why young people die because it isn’t understandable. Memories gush back to me in as little as 3 or 4 minutes. When I was an awkward twiggy tween and not completely sure with where and what I wanted to go in my life or do. I was totally amazed when I met the dark haired and chocolate brown eyed girl of  18 year old. It amazed me that she would come from her home country for a whole year and study at a small school in Minnesota away from everything she knew and loved. I never thought I could do such a thing. God pushed my button a year and a half ago to study abroad and I finally decided to take a dare and I decided to go and deep down I think that she had planted that seed in my life. To travel and study abroad. You see so much and learn soooo much about yourself amidst everything that happens along the way. God uses you and uses it to change your life.

 

But I am blessed to have known Silvia and that she was a part of my life. She influenced my life a lot. Amidst the ones that we lose, God also gives us people to stay in our lives. I am so thankful for all my friends. People are soooo precious. I am also so thankful for my boyfriend, and his amazing family. I am also very thankful that I grew up in the family that I grew up in. And that I serve an amazing God!!!! :)

Onward Lovely Soldiers,

Devin <3

Leave a Reply

