Writing Goal met for today…

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us most. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Maryanne Williamson

I have been typing out my notes from “The Ragged Edge” and while doing that I have been revisited by the thoughts and things that the authors spoke about. It was an amazing experience, truly, to talk to Ted Dekker, Eric Wilson, Robert Liparulo, Steven James, Tosca Lee, and also by getting to know some amazing writers from around America. I met two girls and we started a writing group via email. I am super excited to see how it goes!

The quote above means heaps to me, Tosca Lee told us all about it, and you know what? It is 100% true! Not just a little bit true… but completely true. My sister and I are in Minneapolis now and will be heading home tomorrow, so, I am extremely excited to get home so I can write, write, write. I decided I would like to have the first draft of my book “The Created Ones” done before October. So, that means I must WRITE everyday and a lot!

I made my wordcount for today! I wrote 1,390 words. YAY!

I also decided that I would start reading more, so a few days ago I started reading Robert Liparulo’s book “The 13th Tribe” and the cool thing about this book, is that it’s the pre-release book and he let it out for the Ragged Edge writer’s only, so I am reading it and if I get a review in before November (which, I will.) My acknowledgment will be in the front of his book.

Two last updates:
1. Sweepstake: Let your friends on facebook/email/blogs know about my blog and  facebook writer’s page – Just let them know about me by posting my blog or facebook writer’s page on their wall or something and then show/tell me what you did. Give me the Url and I will be able to see it! The winner will be told, on August 18th.
2. Book Reading: August 18th, 7-8:30pm, at the Teaberry in Fargo (on Broadway, Downtown.)
3. Arts Publication: I have a writing meeting coming up with a Arts publication in Fargo North Dakota on the 23rd. I am excited and will definitely share more about this soon.

It will be tricky and up and down like a roller-coaster because along with my goal I will be going shopping and stuff in Minneapolis (as my sister will be going away to college next week!) It is so hard to believe that she is old enough for college, as I still see her as the little tomboy sister, with a baseball cap, pocahantas shirt and jean skort with crooked pig tails. I miss that cute little person, but to think that she has grown up and is still here. It’s just hard to see that soon, she will be in another States following her dreams.What are your dreams? Tell me yours and I will tell you mine in the next post. :)

Tomorrow, my writing goal will be 2,000 words. Welcome to my dungeon, ready for a trip? Buckle up because, I promise… it is going to be unlike any other.

Blessings!

Devin

Leave a Reply

