Poor Unfortunate Souls… In Pain… In Need…

“Poor Unfortunate Soul? I think not…”

Ursala… you know her, right? I was talking to one of my friends tonight about “The Little Mermaid” and about something that a preacher once said to me! It was probably over 3 years ago when I was still in school at Minnesota State University of Moorhead and when I went to a lovely church in Fargo called “First Assembly” (great church to visit if you are in the Fargo-Moorhead area!) But, anyways, they had a guest pastor/speaker from Las Vegas and it was my first time hearing him speak and I went up to him to pray for me about something and he started by praying for me, but half way through he said, “Oh and God wants me to tell you something…” I was like… WOW!!! Really??….
“Devin, God has seen your pain with what you went through in middle school. When you were picked on by other children. God wants you to know that you have a story to tell… (I was hooked from the first sentence.) But, Satan wants to steal your voice. Like Ursala and how she stole Ariel’s voice, from “The Little Mermaid”. Don’t let him steal your voice, because you have a story to tell that will reach many.”

That night, I was just blown away, literally. I didn’t know this man from Adam, and how did he know that I had been bullied? How did he know that “The Little Mermaid” was my favorite story? How did he know to compare her to me? It wasn’t him that knew it was the great HIM that knew. Jesus KNEW and tonight when I was speaking to my friend about all this, God reminded me that I really shouldn’t worry about pathetic stuff, because when I allow myself to worry about ‘crap’ I really am letting the devil steal my voice and time that I can be using to tell the story with instead.
So, why do I let the devil steal my voice? Will I continue to? I DON’T THINK SO!!!! I never realized how much this fits with my life story. I have always been a worrier and I hate it. But, here, if you have some time watch this song from “The Little Mermaid”- Poor Unfortunate Souls http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyFVG4VfPmg
This is the exact same way that Satan tries to steal voices, and then look and see what we become if he get’s our voices – poor unfortunate souls who are stuck to Ursala’s cave entrance- suffering in their dreadful conditions, doubts, fears, and worries. We all need to take a stand and say no.

“Come on you poor unfortunate soul-
Go ahead!
Make your choice!
I’m a very busy woman and I haven’t got all day
It won’t cost much
Just your voice!
You poor unfortunate soul
It’s sad but true
If you want to cross the bridge, my sweet
You’ve got the pay the toll
Take a gulp and take a breath
And go ahead and sign the scroll
Flotsam, Jetsam, now I’ve got her, boys
The boss is on a roll
This poor unfortunate soul…”

Thank God, that isn’t me… I will speak with my voice and I will share my story!

Thank you for having the lovely conversation, Emily. :)

Devin

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” – Romans 12:1-2

Leave a Reply

