Operation Devin’s Writing Routine Exercise Dare… Why? I need to FINISH the book…

“Writers do not merely reflect and interpret life, they inform and shape life.” — EB White

I am trying to figure out what my plan of attack will be for writing. I need to finish this novel this year. I finished the second book, but I need to finish this first one. Then I can clean up the second book. The only things standing in my way are online. I tell myself I need to go on facebook and such since I am in Australia and my family are in the States, but maybe I should only set up certain times that I will be on facebook/internet. I was reading this one author’s blog and read what his writing routine consists of. And to me it consisted of a lot of coffee. But, that made me wonder – what does my writing routine consist of?

You know what? I will find out. This week I will give myself an opportunity to become a better writer. I am going to give myself an obstacle course of sorts if you want to call it that. On wednesday, I worked at Ilona’s Counselling Practice and I had to wake up at 5am in order to catch the bus to catch the train to catch the bus to her place in time. So, that makes me think… maybe I should be treating writing more like a job.

Top distractions:

  1. Facebook
  2. WordPress
  3. Twitter
  4. Texting
  5. People

And all of these distractions are not in a bad way… I love these distractions. But that is what makes it so hard to sit down and write. Of course there are the other distractions that are less fun – like cleaning, washing dishes, laundry and such things. But you know what? I am going to dare myself to get up earlier and get my writing done even before the day starts… then I will be able to hang out with my boyfriend and do other things throughout the day that I need to do.

So, I will start this dare tomorrow. Is anyone else with me?

My Dare

  • 5am – wake up and make some tea, sit down at computer and check emails and social media for 20 minutes.
  • 5:20am – read a book for 20 minutes to get inspired with words.
  • 5:40am – start writing
  • plan to write 2,000 words or if I write more (all the merrier)

I will start this Dare tomorrow, so friday morning Brisbane Australia time. You are probably wondering why I am going to be crazy and get up at 5am? Well, I get distracted easily even from the city noises and the sunshine outside. Night suits me best, as I am a night owl – but, maybe if I set this up then I will get a lot of writing done. I have given myself Saturday and Sunday off so that I can sleep in, but other than that… all of next week I will get up at 5am to write. While I write this I sigh and pout because I dislike the idea of waking up so early. But one must give up things for the things they love. And I think, hey 2 or 3 hours sleep = a finished novel. Sounds awesome. I will keep you up to date on my ‘Writing Routine Exercise Dare’. Are you up for the dare too? 

I put a quote up at the top of this blog entry by E.B. White about how writer’s don’t reflect and interpret life, but rather that we inform and shape life – so, I am not going to let my distractions blind me from informing and shaping life.

6 Pre-conceived Ideas to help with Devin’s Writing Routine Exercise Dare 

  1. Clean up your writing area the night before and clean up anything else that may catch your attention, so that you don’t end up cleaning just to have a reason not to write.
  2. Get out of bed to write, it is WAY too easy to fall asleep in bed, when you are writing
  3. Free write in a note book (aim to write 3 pages)
  4. Turn the internet off after you have checked your emails and social networking sites
  5. Turn off your phone
  6. Get your words down on the paper
My first blog entry on how my first day of the dare went will be written tomorrow. Keep your eyes open for it. But, better yet, are you with me on this? What do you do in your writing routine? Any pre-writing rituals? I know… I need to get some candles… (they always inspire me!)

 

8 thoughts on “Operation Devin’s Writing Routine Exercise Dare… Why? I need to FINISH the book…

  1. All sounds great, except I’m not sure about the turn phone off. Then you’re just going to want to turn it on every half hour to see if you didn’t get any ‘important’ messeges from an ‘important’ someone. :p

    • Hehe! :) Yes, I would probably have issues with that one! :) Well, I probably wouldn’t get any texts or whatnot at 5am… but maybe from a ‘special someone’! :) hehe… Love you!

  2. Sounds good Devin! Just remember the important thing is to make time. Things will fall into place. I know for me making a set time doesn’t work, because the strangest things inspire me and it is usually late night. I think we become so dependent on the internet that we forget to look at the beauty around us and get involved in life! :)
    Good Luck! Don’t turn off your phone, nothing is more frustrating than trying to get a hold of someone. Ask Tony his phone died today, on his motorcycle ride to the cities.

    Can’t wait to see your writing!! :)

  3. Sounds like a good plan. I actually deactivate facebook when I need to have major goals met and it’s quite liberating. Also, I find checking email/social media first thing is like procrastinating from the real stuff…why don’t you just wake up and get right into it and make the most of your 5am start? The days I do that puts me on this natural high and all the social media crap doesn’t matter doesn’t even come to consideration – why would it if you are actually accomplishing things in you real life and things that you are passionate about? The days I give myself even 10 minutes to look through emails first thing just really wrecks the magic and loses what ever advantage a fresh, well rested mind has. That’s just me though! Good luck with the 5am routine!

  4. Good luck, Devin. You’ve inspired me to take on a similar challenge. For this coming week, I’m planning to get up one hour earlier than normal and devote that time to my writing. Like you, the idea of getting up early is not a pleasant one, because I’m typically much more of a night owl. But I know that doing this is probably the best way to kick start some extra writing.

      • Well, the first week was pretty much a failure on several fronts. I got writing done over the past week, but not anything extra due to getting up early and putting in that time. For various reasons, any time I had getting up early got eaten up by other things. Bleah. But, I’m not given up. I still think it will be the best way to kickstart the writing up to a new level so I can finish up my current book. Again, thanks for the inspiration, and for all the great posts.

Leave a Reply

