Lessons on writing from Naruto… Day 5 of Devin’s Writing Routine Exercise

Hello Everyone,

I have been rather slow at posting up the 5th day of my writing routine and how it went. I thought I would share a post on conflict and writing it. Lately, my boyfriend has gotten me addicted to a cartoon. Or rather some people would call it anime. It’s called Naruto. Have any of you ever watched it before?

The series of Naruto is carefully and creatively planned out and written with strong characters. Here are a few things that I have learned about writing from watching Naruto.

  1. Conflict: I’ve said this many times that conflict makes the story. I remember my Dad once telling me that something bad has to happen in order for the story to be exciting – I remember having thought that if everything is good and nothing bad happens to the characters then I will be all happy that my characters don’t have to undergo anything terrible. But, then what fun is it to read about someone’s overly perfect life with no real-life-issues? That doesn’t exist as there are problems and issues in all people’s lives (Some is bigger and some are smaller). e.g. from Naruto = A demon fox comes into a small village to destroy it when it is sealed into a little baby. The baby grows up and has to deal with this force inside of him, that he hates. (or another one) Naruto’s friend Sasuke leaves the village as a Rouge Ninja, and Naruto wants to bring him back – all to find out that Sasuke doesn’t want to come back.
  2. Believable Characters who you genuinely care for:
    •Purely Evil Characters – you wonder how they are so evil. The writer’s wrote it that way to get watchers wondering about those character’s pasts. There have been times I’ve watched and seen this horrible character who I despised to find a few episodes later that I liked them, because I now understood their past and where they’ve come from! e.g. Sasuke, Pain, Itachi, and Guren
  3. Flash-Backs: These always help watchers and readers understand the character’s life more. It opens up more of the story so that they can either feel more for the character or hate them more. It’s a nice way of giving them a glimpse into the character’s life.
  4. A main protagonist who everyone hopes for: Naruto is the main character in this saga, even though there are quite a few others who have big parts in it too. Everyone hopes for Naruto and wants him to win and when his path crosses with others (you get to know their stories too and then you also hope for them.)
  5. Have a few characters that your main character can count on: This one is important. e.g. from Naruto = Jiyaiya, Kakashi, 5th Hokage
  6. Have a clear Antagonist or other people against: the protagonist so that they will have battles and hardships to overcome. It makes the story even more exciting! :) e.g. from Naruto = Orochimaru, Sasuke, Akatsuki

If you haven’t watched any Naruto. You should check it out. You will be amazed by those writers.

One thought on “Lessons on writing from Naruto… Day 5 of Devin’s Writing Routine Exercise

  1. Yay, go Naruto. Funny that you wrote about Naruto, because I think my next post will include it as well – some things I have learned out of watching the show :)

Leave a Reply

