Attitude… Cockroaches… and life as I know it at the moment.

Light Shows & Unwanted Dinner Guests

It is the Brisbane festival at the moment – which leads up to the big fireworks and light show on the Brisbane River known to many Brisbane-ites as “River Fire”. Tonight after I got done writing and after Johan finished studying we walked to South Bank and got some yummy sandwiches at “Grilld” and then we walked to the river and sat down on the edge of the river. It was beautiful. The city scape reflecting their lights onto the water reflecting bright reds, blues, and pinks. Music played in the speakers as Johan and I enjoyed our meal.

I reached to grab a french fry (by the way they have some of the most yummy fries made with sea salt and rosemary!) but, yes I picked up my french fry and dipped it in the sauce when all of a sudden next to my pinkie finger there was a visitor on the spot next to my sauce. As soon as I saw the cockroach I started freaking out. It scuttled on my lap and then off and over the ledge. I stood up and started doing a freaking out touched a bug dance! What a close encounter with a disgusting existence!

What a close encounter with a disgusting existence!

So that was my scary experience today. But then when we got back to my apartment – I went to use the bathroom and when I came back Johan told me there was a cockroach in my apartment. I sorta freaked out again… it’s just a gross feeling that there might be a nasty presence in my apartment… maybe I should name him… until I find him… AND THEN… I WILL KILL HIM!!!!!

Attitudes…

Just lately I have realized that I hate it when certain people have bad attitudes. They are so negative and speak as though everything is about them. What do you do when people act this way? I see things like this on facebook all the time – I am so close to commenting, but I always stop before posting because I don’t want to be seen as the rude person who caused me to want to post by others!

Getting some words written! :)

Getting Some Words Written

For the past few days my boyfriend and I have been accountable with each other him with his studies and me with my writing. I am so thankful I have someone to kick me in the behind when I need it. I am so excited about this story! I told you all before that I would tell you all the name of the book. How about the next post? In order for me to release the name, I need everyone to comment below answering a question inspired from the links below. Then also make sure to post on the links and follow the blogs.

I have been working on a blog with a few other writers a lot lately too. Check out an amazing post on sitting yourself in the chair to write, Synopsis writing tips that work, and also why you shouldn’t give up on writing that novel of yours. 

  1. If you are a writer how do you get yourself to sit in the chair and write?
  2. Do you have any Synopsis writing tips that you like to use?
  3. What are a few things that cause you to procrastinate finishing what you are working on?

9 thoughts on “Attitude… Cockroaches… and life as I know it at the moment.

  1. Hey Devin, my friend in Aussieland! I agree with the whole attitude/cockroach thing. Some people just want to kill other’s joy. Weird. Anyway, I would like to say I am one of those disciplined people who sits and writes a certain amount each day on my novels, but alas I am a slave to the muse! I write each day, but not always in the same book or even in a novel. Sometimes it is blog stuff, other days, it’s editing stuff, other days it’s just charting for my brown monkey job. But when the muse sings….ah….what bliss! I keep several novels running, right now I have a children’s book going, a YA romance/adventure series, a full on fantasy other world series, an edgy odern day supernatural book, and a collection of songs and poems that go with my fantasy. So whatever the muse is singing to me that day, I have somewhere to go express the mood of the day. It keeps me creating, a definite necessity for me.

  2. I like to write on my phone during car rides, layovers, and deadspaces. Like LaDonna, I have more than one WIP, for whatever muse is singing, though I also find that I can use music to put me in the right mindset for a story.
    I tend to procrastinate by doing too much world building (a story I started in high school has genealogies spanning hundreds of years and multiple continents, but not much actual writing.)

    • I have found I write a lot on my phone too… especially on trips and train rides to work. :) What is one thing you think you could do to not spend too much time world-building if that is how you proctrastinate? I wish my procrastination tool was because of too much world-building… lol… genealogies over hundreds of years? that is awesome! :) Keep up the work!

Leave a Reply

