The Joyous Day Two Of Our Journal Journey

Close the door. Write with no one looking over your shoulder. Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer. ~ Barbara Kingsolver

I thought this quote pretty much summed up a person when they are journaling or when they decide to journal. Today we are going to talk about what king of journaling options you have as there are many choices.

The Art Journal:

An art journal is a wonderful way to let you creative juices run wild. If you like art and writing it is a perfect duet. Do you love to draw or paint? Do you enjoy working with more than one medium?

See how travelers combine artwork in their journals. This is amazing, one would never forget their trip to Arizona!

I never thought of drawing a map, but I should do this in my journal from when I traveled around London on the Tube! Or maybe even the train here in Brisbane.

A Writing Idea’s Journal:
I love this one. If you keep a writing journal for each book that you write, you can fill it with your world. Using words, pictures, and drawings to build up your world.

What better idea than to build your world in a way that you can “see” it! :)

Inspiration…

In my journals I would always write quotes or Bible verses in the insides of the covers. And whenever I needed a lift or something to make me smile I would look in there. I would use all colours of pens. I would draw little doodles.

A Journal That Could Be Yours At The End Of The Week!

Choice One

Choice 2

You ask, “Devin, how can I win one of those amazing journals?”

This contest will be taking place this coming week. I will be giving away 2 journals of your choice for the prizes, but in order to stay in the running you must:

  1. You must be a follower of my blog! :)
  2. Share the blog with your friends on facebook, twitter, your blog, and other sites during the week! (I will get notifications that you have shared so, I will know!)
  3. Comment. Answer the questions & ask questions.
  4. And last but not least, take part in conversation in the comments. The posts will be showing how to dig deep in our journalling and how that helps us in our daily walk!
  5. The contest will begin today and will run till the 29th of September! :)Good LUCK! :) May the Journals be in your favor! :D

When journaling do you just write, or do you also stick pictures and drawings into it?

  1. What inspires you while writing in a journal?

7 thoughts on “The Joyous Day Two Of Our Journal Journey

  1. I use my journal for writing ideas and just writing certain scenes that pop into my head for all of the many books I have sitting in my head. I also draw random things in my journal when the inspiration hits. There is nothing quite like a good journal!

  2. I use a number of drawing / art apps on my iPad, as well as a big spiral doodle pad. I like to rough sketch scenes from my writing in there, as opening scenes would progress and such. There’s a wonderful TED talk by a brilliant Central Asian woman where she took a story and made it into an interactive experience on an iPad. I think our written world is soon going to integrate with the multi-sensory experience. The journal pics you posted above have inspired me to go get a colored set of Sharpie pens and colored pencils and who knows, maybe some crayons, and get back to just having some good fun with color and drawing!

  3. Reblogged this on Courtney J Ward and commented:
    Journaling is amazing and what Devin is trying do is amazing. We all need to take time to express ourselves. This is the only way to figure out who you really are, and what you were born to do. Love.

Leave a Reply

