The Road Less Traveled – Journaling Day 3

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. – Robert Frost

Journalling About Your Life

I like to write about all sorts of things in my journal. I like to write about my joys, sadness, and also the choices I have to make. Have you ever come to a cross road in your life? Almost like the road signs that you see in cartoons where it says go this way to such and such and this way to another place? Have you ever felt stumped at which option you should choose?
I remember a time where I didn’t know which way to turn. I was a Junior in college when I decided that I would study abroad in Australia. I wanted to, but deep down inside, I really didn’t know what I wanted to do. I had told my Mom that I was thinking about it, but honestly thinking back on it – I really don’t know if I was really serious. But then my Dad came to visit in Fargo and he took me out to eat at one of our favorite restaurants called “Doolittles”. We sat outside. I remember it just like yesterday. My dad asked me, “So, Momma told me you were thinking about studying abroad in Australia?”
I was shocked. I hadn’t told him that yet. As I responded with a, “Yes!” he smiled and said, “I think you should do it!”

At that moment I figured out which arrow to follow on that sign post. It’s just interesting what a difference it makes when people stand behind you on something.

Encouragement

As a writer, I have always written and created. Ever since I was young my parents told me I could do anything I wanted to. As a small girl who took her passion in creating little fairy people in her sketch books, writing their stories, creating plays and directing her siblings in the play she wrote – my parents never told me to stop it. They told me that I could do it if I wanted to and that they believed in me. They never told me to pick a better degree. Thank goodness. They stood by me and encouraged me. Sometimes you need that support and strength from an outside place.

I think that encouragement that I have had ever since I was little pushed me to achieve my dreams and goals. I am still learning and still figuring out which sign post I will follow- but the less traveled path is the one that I am on.

You ask, “Devin, how can I win one of those amazing journals?”

This contest will be taking place this coming week. I will be giving away 2 journals of your choice for the prizes, but in order to stay in the running you must:

  1. You must be a follower of my blog! :)
  2. Share the blog with your friends on facebook, twitter, your blog, and other sites during the week! (I will get notifications that you have shared so, I will know!)
  3. Comment. Answer the questions & ask questions. You can answer one of them or all of them!! :D
  4. And last but not least, take part in conversation in the comments. The posts will be showing how to dig deep in our journalling and how that helps us in our daily walk!
  5. The contest will begin today and will run till the 29th of September! :)Good LUCK! :) May the Journals be in your favor! :D
  6. The more you share, facebook, tweet, and comment the more of a chance you will have to win one of the amazing journals.

    Choice One

Choice 2

Journaling Questions: How about you?

  1. Who has encouraged you most in your life?
  2. Are you at a sign post on a cross road of your life?
  3. What is one thing nobody knows about you because nobody ever cared to ask? (I care, that is why I am asking!) :) 
  4. Robert Frost write a poem titled The Road Not Taken.  Name a road you’ve always wanted to travel?

10 thoughts on “The Road Less Traveled – Journaling Day 3

  1. Someday I want to see those Petal Girls in a Children’s Book! You spend hours on them. I even remember you telling me about them on hikes, up Harney Peak?
    Encouragement is a Gift which is returned to you when you help others along and care for them too. I am happy that our family has always found that important. Even when sometimes I know they don’t understand Camera Raw and Don’t really want to hear about it.
    I know that they want me to succeed.
    I love the road less traveled because you can be individual and unique :)

  2. A road I would like to travel? I would love to visit the lands that my ancestors came from, finding the exact spots where homes stood, gazing across the same landscape that my ancestors saw and, perhaps, bringing a small piece of that history back with me to share with others.
    (I’m going to have to finish this comment now because I can’t see the words anymore! I apologize for any mispelled words:)

    • Abby, these are awesome Roads to travel someday! I know what you mean in saying you want to see where your ancestors came from and lived. I also want to do that too… I want to go to the Norwegian Fjords, Sweden, and Germany. So many places to see!

  3. Roads I’d like to travel? I would love see Ireland so any road in in Ireland would be so great. Also I would love to see the Via de la Rosa and walk along the very steps that Christ took on his way to the cross. I suppose it would be nice to keep to the “high road” but I seem to detour from that one quite frequently. ;)

  4. Hmmm… my encourage would be my wife. She understands that writing is part of who I am. I have wonderful parents, but was pretty rudderless growing up- I think they thought I had a sense of purpose, which I didn’t. I didn’t really muster the courage to be my own man until I decided to join the military, much to the wonderment of everyone, except my then fiance, now my wife.

    I’m past my road sign in life- it’s why writing is such an important part of me, why art is such an important part of me. Writing stories, whether in novel or screenplay form is something that I know is part of me. I think the part of my past I value most is that rudderless time, not the sense of purposelessness (though it makes this time that much more sweet), but because I know I’ll encourage my kids every step of the way to pursue their deepest dreams and not worry about the practicality.

    Something nobody knows because no one cared to ask? Well, folks ask from time to time, mostly on remembrance days like his birthday or the day he died, but I don’t think most folks know how deeply I anguish each day without my oldest son. And how seeing my children now (the four of them) brings me joy and sorrow at the same time, because I always have the ghost of thought saying “there should be one more here”. Dont’ know if that little ramble made sense.

    A road I want to travel- well can’t say I’ve always wanted to, but one day I will walk El Camino de Santiago. I think I need to now more than ever.

    And wow, much longer than I expected. Thanks for the prompt, Devin. (Did I mention I just landed in Brisbane? LOL ;) )

    • That is awesome Rob, It is good to have that strong encourager. Glad it’s your wife. It’s a good thing when your spouse or partner wants what you want. I can imagine it was hard with what happened to your son and I can imagine you think about him all the time.

      Thank you for sharing. :) Haha… How was the flight? Long? :)

  5. I have no actual idea of a road that I could consider traveling, driving is not my favorite thing to do. It’s more of a release and a escape. What is interesting to me, however, is that I am currently working on a piece called the road to living, and with your day 3 entry being of a similar nature is quite comforting. With that being said, I am definitely at a sign post in my life. Happy Journaling Everyone.

    • If we use the road of life as a metaphor what are the roads you would like to travel? For me… get my book published, travel to Italy and Rome. Maybe you could think of it as a bucket list? Your piece sounds interesting! Happy Journaling! :D

Leave a Reply

