Your Journaling Spectacular – Journaling Journey Day Four

Journaling From Life – Your Story

After finishing a journal (maybe it’s a travel journal, or a remembrance of your family while you were young journal, or a family history journal – you never know the options that may be ahead for you. If you are more than just a journal-er and you love writing books too, maybe you could do a memoir. :) I will post on memoir in a few days, but I want to share with you a piece of what I wrote after leaving England. I strolled in the cemetery of the church where Shakespeare was buried and walked down the streets of Liverpool that the Beatles came up with their hit songs on. I decided to look a little deeper at my life, while peering into their lives as well! It taught me that I need to archive all my work, all my writing, and journaling is one way to do that!

Making your Fantasy a Reality
You Have a Story

If I asked you what your story is, would you know? Or would you look at me with questioning eyes and an answer like, “Oh, I am not sure that I have a story or that my life will ever really amount to anything? It’s pretty much impossible to be noticed anyways.” You would finish saying, while glancing off in another direction while changing the subject.

What If I told you that you do have a story to tell? There were 2 boys who probably didn’t think that they were going to have a story to tell that would be world known either. What is the possibility of a few people being noticed in the whole world, anyways?

While in Liverpool, a place called Woolton I got to see where an amazing music legacy began. It was there that Paul McCartney and John Lennon met for the first time. When their names are mentioned everyone knows that they were part of the Beatles. They wrote beautiful, cheery, and also some tougher songs as well.

“Here comes the sun,” “Let me take you down, Because I’m going to… Strawberry Field. Nothing is real, nothing to get hung about…Strawberry fields forever.” “Hey, Jude… don’t make it bad…take a sad song and make it better.” “All you need is love.” Their lyrics were made with true artistry and literally full of imagination. They probably had no Idea that one day they would be the next big thing after Elvis. In the book Imagine this, which was written by John Lennon’s sister mentions that John Lennon’s family loved listening to Elvis and that he was a huge Rock N Roll icon for the world. Did John Lennon or Paul McCartney know that they would be a huge part of ROCK N ROLL and that there is the funny part, Shows that we all don’t really know?

The Beatles are one example of people that made it big, had a story to tell and they did. They made their own choices; some good and others bad. But that is people, some people make decisions that make or break their life.

Another person who I really found myself thinking about a lot while in England was the person that we place up next to Einstein and Beethoven. His lines are known around the globe. Some include:

• “The course of true love never did run smooth”.– Hamlet

• “See, how she leans her cheek upon her hand! O that I were a glove upon that hand, that I might touch that cheek!”-Romeo and Juliet

Who other than, Shakespeare? He is known as the best writer the world has seen.

When I was at the Shakespeare museum a video said that if people hadn’t known of Shakespeare’s plays or if they had not been archived and taken care of—all his work would have dwindled away. And he would have been unknown. Which, brought me to think about all the people before and during and even after Shakespeare’s time that wrote amazing things and their things were not archived or taken care of—causing them to erase that person’s existence or so it would seem. I talked to another girl about that and she told me that if there had been some other writers that were good like Shakespeare then their work would have been remembered and noticed and saved. I would have to say I don’t believe that. There is a right time and certain choices that people would have to make in order to be someone.

When I was in Shakespeare’s house I found myself imagining about the young Shakespeare who was sitting in the kitchen writing on a tablet about his creative and genius ideas many years before. Did William Shakespeare know that he would be considered the world’s best writer? I don’t believe he did either, he just went with what he loved doing.

It amazes me how these artists are just two different examples of people living in unexpected times with an amazing talent and drive which led to an amazingly successful life. They changed the world as they knew it to the world as we know it. Now we need to be the ones to stand up and change the world as we know it to the world as our children and children’s children will know it.

See my point? You do have a story to tell, if you like it or not—it is a story and only you can tell it. Like with Shakespeare and the Beatles (It was only them that could do it) and those that didn’t follow through or archive, their things were forgotten. So, don’t be forgotten. Achieve for greatness as Shakespeare said, “Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them.”

Choice One

Choice 2

You ask, “Devin, how can I win one of those amazing journals?”

This contest will be taking place this coming week. I will be giving away 2 journals of your choice for the prizes, but in order to stay in the running you must:

  1. You must be a follower of my blog! :)
  2. Share the blog with your friends on facebook, twitter, your blog, and other sites during the week! (I will get notifications that you have shared so, I will know!)
  3. Comment. Answer the questions & ask questions. You can answer one of them or all of them!! :D
  4. And last but not least, take part in conversation in the comments. The posts will be showing how to dig deep in our journalling and how that helps us in our daily walk!
  5. The contest will begin today and will run till the 29th of September! :)Good LUCK! :) May the Journals be in your favor! :D
  6. The more you share, facebook, tweet, and comment the more of a chance you will have to win one of the amazing journals.

Journaling Questions: How about you?

  1. Do you feel like you have a unique story to tell about your life? If so what is it?
  2. If you could write about one time in your life where you accomplished something that many believed you couldn’t -what would it be?

5 thoughts on “Your Journaling Spectacular – Journaling Journey Day Four

  1. Honestly, I don’t feel like my life is very remarkable, until I start telling people about this or that thing that happened. Oddly enough, they find it interesting.
    Can’t say that I have any tales of triumph when people didn’t think I would. Although my old High School peers would probably be surprised to find out I’m married now. I was the awkward bookworm that couldn’t care less about dating.

  2. I think everyone’s story is unique…whether or not it is interesting isn’t for me to say. Even the most boring life will experience things I will not. I am still a part of my story, so I don’t know what it is yet.
    But honestly, if I could write about one time in my life where I accomplished something….
    It would have to be in the future…when writing an autobiography about my life as a published author ;) That would be sublime.

  3. Absolutely, I think everybody has a unique story. If I started, I’d be up all night, and who would believe me? No, no, it is much safer to hide unique stories in novels. I think I’ve accomplished many things that even I thought weren’t going to pan out. Marriage (he finally fell for me but sticks around because he says he just wants to see what happens next). Children (got really lucky there). Business (sometimes it is best if you have no clue what you’ve gotten yourself into). Now, finally, writing (see the latter aside). I think I’ve figured something out. Never give up. It’s the secret to getting things done, right?
    If I were to write an autobiography the title would be, “I was Raised by Wolves, and I Turned Out Just Fine.” That’s not entirely accurate though. I mean I turned out just fine and all, but Gypsies stole me and sold me to a lovely Bohemian Clan for a box of ducks. It happens.

  4. When I consider it immediately, I think, nah, nothing unusual. But then when I look back on it, it’s really been quite…notable. Like Steph said, it would take awhile to log it, much less make it sound realistic. But then again, most lives aren’t that way. I don’t believe their is ever a person born to live a mundane life. Some settle for it, but that’s not just answering the question incorrectly, that’s simply not answering the question at all. But given all the “hey look how successful I am” media and social status symbology rampant today, it’s easy to get suckered into thinking our lives are destined for boredom.

    For a story that most wouldn’t believe possible for me, it would be my enlistment into the Army and becoming an Army Ranger and working in the special operations community for as long as I did and becoming capable of the things I’m capable of doing. I guess I just don’t have the face for it… LOL

Leave a Reply

