Dead-lines, NaNoWrimo, and (my thoughts)

Hello Everyone,

Brisbane has been blooming like crazy! It’s so nice to see all the green shades in the trees and such a huge variety of flowers blooming everywhere. It’s so beautiful, but one thing that has been hard is the freakishly humid weather. It’s hot enough without the humidity, but then when mother nature adds on the humidity it drives me CRAZY in the morning. It’s like a never ending sauna and being a girl from Minnesota – I still haven’t climatized to always being sweaty. This morning I woke in a sweat and rushed to the shower. About 5 minutes after that shower, I wish I could have taken another one. Yes, humid… like that!

Besides writing here and there – I’ve entered a Halloween Writing Short Story, which I am excited about. This week I will continue my search for a job, and will attempt to write 10,000 or so words by Friday. (current WIP word count is 44,730) I am going to find some places I can freelance at and send a few articles in whether to get paid for or just for the experience so I have more to add to my portfolio.

NaNoWrimo

Who all here is participating in NaNoWrimo? If you are please click on the link and add me as a NaNoWrimo Writing Buddy!

This is a Jacaranda Tree… Isn’t it pretty? :)

Purple Trees and Prayer

The picture to the right is of the Jacaranda tree that I was talking about up above. Isn’t it pretty? It’s so beautiful. Johan told me about a tale that most people say which is “If a Jacaranda bloom falls on your head, you will do good on your exams.” He also told me that whenever the Jacaranda’s are blooming people will always say, “It’s getting close to exam time.”

Speaking of a flower falling on one’s head – Johan and I were walking under a Jacaranda Tree and I jumped up and grabbed a purple flower off the branch. I  set it on Johan’s head.

Guess what he got on his exam? A 7, which is an equivalent to an American A!!!! :) Yes, okay I guess I am being a proud girlfriend and bragging a little bit! haha… oh well… he deserves it! :)

This photo reminds me that I have been sorta slack in taking photos lately, so I am deciding that from now on I am going to take my camera on daily walks (since I don’t have a dog or a cat… which by the way, I really miss having a cat.) and I will share a little of my life in Brisbane with you all.

If you all could keep me in your prayers… I want to find a job here so that I could stay longer so Johan and I don’t have to be split by the ocean again. We survived it once and could do it again, but it would be best if we didn’t have to. So please pray for God’s favour and his will. :)

I just got an ebook called the 90-Day Novel, and I found some of the questions in the book to be thought provoking. I will answer some of the questions throughout the next few months.

“One thing I feel strongly about…”

I feel strongly about the truth, about life, blessings, and choosing the life that God created for you, not the fake reflections that we see in Satan’s warped mirrors. It is important for me to tell as many people as I can about the two walks of life that we can choose. There is a ‘narrow-gate’ and a ‘wide-gate” and we have to choose. One leads to life and one leads to death. It’s from a Bible verse. :) That is kind of what my current WIP’s theme will follow. But it is something that I am passionate about. :)

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. – Matthew 7:13-14

I also feel strongly about this in life, not just in writing. That is why sometimes I share my beliefs and thoughts on political things and current events happening in our world today. There are many people out there who don’t know the difference between world views, candidates, and I know there are some out there who are not going to vote because they believe their voices don’t matter.

I really don’t like it when I post something about the truth and then a bunch of people comment looking for a fight. I want to spread the truth that people do have voices and a reason for living. They can make a difference in the world, in their country, and in their family and friends lives. Even in a stranger’s life.

One day while in the City, I was shopping in a clothing store and saw this woman when I glanced up from a clothing rack. She was working there hanging up new merchandise. I smiled and continued to look around. To tell you the honest truth – I felt like ‘crud’ that day. I had no makeup on and was feeling blagh.
“Excuse me, mam’ I just wanted to tell you, you have a beautiful smile. and it made my day!” It amazed me, because I hadn’t been going out of my way to change a person’s life. But rather, each thing we do – big or little affects us and those around us.

Hope you all have a great day!! :) Celebrate LIFE!

  1. What do you feel strongly about? 

6 thoughts on “Dead-lines, NaNoWrimo, and (my thoughts)

  1. I added you as a buddy on NaNo! I’m starrynightblue there. =]
    Also, since my fiance and I are separated by an ocean as well and I know how much it sucks, I sure hope you get to stay in Brisbane. Good luck finding a job!

    As to what I feel strongly about… I guess I would have to say my faith, my relationships and my writing. =]

    • Oh exciting!! :) I am glad we are buddies! I am excited for NaNoWrimo! It’ll be fun! I will add ya too. Thanks for the lovely words! :)

      Yes, your fiance is American, right? I am from the state, Minnesota. Which State is he from? Has he been to visit you there? How did you guys meet?

      I always love hearing other stories like this. It’s encouraging to hear other’s stories, isn’t it? :) But it’s so comforting to know there are others who are persevering through the distance, because in the long run it will all work out!!! :)

Leave a Reply

