The To Dos and To Not Dos of Editing – Edit Round 1 Update

I just love this picture! Last Halloween I dress like an un-dead writer... and my cat was wondering "What thee heck!?" lol... in between purrs! :P

I just love this picture! Last Halloween I dressed like an un-dead writer… and my cat was wondering “What thee heck!?” lol… in between purrs! :P

Today was an interesting day of edits. It was also a full day of packing. I think I might write a post on what I have learned from packing a container and then I would compare it to things in life. I think it might be really good!

But, back to editing… I never realized how many times I use certain words when I write. This is going to be a short update, but it will be a list of to do’s and not to do’s for editing… that I have learned already in this first week of edits.

To Dos and To Not Dos

So there are more to not dos than to dos… but hey, it’s all in learning! :)

  • To do for next book I write -> I will edit what I wrote the next day before I write, then I will be able to have a somewhat cleaner 1st draft. This draft is a bit messier, because I did it for NaNoWrimo and just needed it done!
  • Don’t switch point of view. I know now that I had a problem with it, but will most definitely correct this habit in this edit. I was writing “She said this or did this…” and then a few paragraphs later it switched to “I said this and did that…” But, I kicked that in the behind today! :) 
  • Don’t switch tenses… I fixed this problem a while back when I was focusing on a short story edit.
  • Don’t use “go to” words… There are certain words that I always “go to” and they are: like, that, was, were, have, just. After editing today I was disgusted by those cheap words.

What about you? What are your editing To Do and To Not Do lists?

6 thoughts on “The To Dos and To Not Dos of Editing – Edit Round 1 Update

  1. Very true. And keep a notebook next to you if you’re editing on the computer for your first sweep through. Make a page for character, setting, plot holes, objects/themes & story arc. Correct grammar as you go, but make dot points on the relevant pages about character problems you come across (voice, POV, inconsistencies, lack of persona etc). Then on your second edit you can go back through and strengthen your story. This is where you should make sure your premise or theme is always present in scenes.

    Good luck with the edits Devin!

    • Awesome points Charmaine! I totally agree with you on those all! :) I have found it extremely important to have a notebook next to me while editing so I can write down things that need to be smoothed out and such! Awesome points! Thanks! :D

  2. Hi Devin. Editing is so important as you’ve learned. I can’t read anything without editing, so I’ll just point out that you’ve used apostrophes when you shouldn’t. ‘To Dos’ is just plural, it’s not possessive. It’s an easy mistake to make. People misuse apostrophes all the time.

    Awesome that you got your novel finished. My first draft is ready for the edits and rewrites.

    Word Press hates my blogspot blog. Ignore the twitter link as I’ve changed that, but my blog link is:

    laussieswritingblog.blogspot.com :D

  3. Reading the story out loud. It finds the flagging words, the places that may not seem so awkward when read silently, but those which fall flat with a resounding thud when spoken. I think I’ll never put a book out again, if I haven’t read it aloud first!

  4. What i don’t understood is in reality how you’re now not actually much more well-liked than you may be right now.
    You are so intelligent. You already know thus significantly in relation to this subject,
    made me personally believe it from numerous varied angles.
    Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested until it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your own stuffs nice. At all times maintain it up!

Leave a Reply

