Coughing People & Long Hours in Airports

uffda_mini_poster_print

It seems like just yesterday that I was on the other side of the world.

This is really too crazy.

I am back in Minnesota and is it ever cold here.  UFFDA…
(I may have plenty of readers who don’t quite understand what Uffda means. Read about it here… It totally describes me. :P )

It felt like I was traveling for a week. Well, I was traveling for 3 days so almost, but not really.

I left Brisbane and flew to LAX via Taipei. Yes… Taipei. I had an eleven hour layover there. YES…. you heard correctly… ELEVEN HOURS… 

I found out though that Taipei Airport gives a free half-day tour. So, I went on it and saw many different things. I will be sure to write an update on the tour and such.

IMG_4035

After Taipei, I landed in LAX with a small layover of about 2 hours and 15 minutes. It was so hectic getting through immigrations and customs and security. Besides that LAX is a crazy airport. In the knick of time I made it to my gate and boarded my next flight to Denver. Only having about an hour and a half layover to make it to my next plane to Fargo from Denver. After Denver, I finally boarded my last flight of the day.

look at the writing!!!

Look at the writing on the back of the pop can!!!

But, at the moment I don’t want to talk about the flying or traveling part of my journey. I want to dedicate this post to flight and airport manners or lack of them.

Okay, what are some things that I saw at the airport or in the plane?

In the flight from Taipei, I experienced something no one should ever have to experience. The man sitting next to me clearly had a cold and kept blowing his nose in his hand. YES!!!!! IN his bare hand!!!!!! And then he would wipe it onto his coat.

I was thinking, “Seriously, if you do that one more time… I am going to tell you not to do that in front of me.” But then after he did it again and continued to I just got even more disgusted and stood up for a while to escape him. I couldn’t stand being next to him. I mean… GROSS. You don’t do that.

Other things that grossed me out or annoyed me: 

  • People who didn’t cover their mouthes when they sneeze or cough. (This happened while I was in Asia mostly, but there were many people doing this.) It made me hope I wasn’t going to catch a bug. When I got home I was sure to get a Flu shot just to be safe from this flu epidemic going around in America.
  • Rude people (I understand people were probably traveling just as far as I did or ever farther… but really, don’t treat others horribly…it wont make your day any smoother.)
  • Mean security or customs people. I am not guilty of anything just because I was in Taipei, Singapore, and Australia while on my journeys.  I don’t like it how they try making you feel guilty for NOTHING. For just standing in front of them.

What are some things that annoy you when you are traveling in Airports??

6 thoughts on “Coughing People & Long Hours in Airports

  1. Oh no. I can totally relate to the sneezing thing. I was at a movie a few weeks ago and the guy behind me sneezed on the back of my neck. He didn’t apologize at all. I was so upset I ended up leaving the movie early. Air travel has definitely gotten worse since I was younger. I rarely fly anymore.

  2. Hi Devin – welcome back to the states! Over the last year or so I’ve had to do some extra traveling, so I had opportunities to run across some annoying people and behaviors. Off the top of my head, I think two that really bother me are: people sitting near or next to me who are hacking their lungs out through the whole flight, and people who sit behind you and kick your seat through the flight. Oh, and people who let their kids go wild in the plane. Ugh, sometimes it can be awful. Fortunately, most flights are very pleasant.

    • Thanks for the “Welcome Back”!! I totally hate those same things… especially the people who sit behind you and kick THE WHOLE WAY to your destination.

      Thanks for sharing your air-travel pet peeves. :)

    • haha!!! Yes, it was bad… but usually I have better experiences on my travels. So, I am not afraid of flying in the future! :) 3 months old, huh? Wow… I bet that was nice so you didn’t have to remember it really. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

