Review: What is Professionalism…

REVIEW: Professionalism Is IMPORTANT!!

As you all know, I am currently revising my manuscript.

I had no idea how to go about this whole process, but I just mucked right on in with my rain boots. haha… I like this mental picture, because I can picture a time in my life when I was probably 8-years-old. I was wearing my rain boots out near the garden. It had rained a lot and it was really muddy. I mucked on in and was having a blast, but then I realized something.

I WAS STUCK… I started breathing in deeply and tried pulling my rain boots out, but at that very moment my foot came flying out of the rain boot. I was a crying little island in the middle of the mud ocean. I braved myself and pulled the other foot out and ran to safety. My feet were all muddy. haha… my boots stayed out there for a few days!

But, with revising I picture it that way. You need to get yourself dirty. You have to roll up your pants and get in there.

I am quite a few chapters in now, and am excited about my progress.

But a few weeks ago I was looking for some books or courses on how to revise.

I heard from a few people that I should look into the course How To Revise Your Novel by Holly Lisle. They also told me it was quite expensive, being $49.95 per month (5 payments) = $249.75. I looked into it and read reviews on it. I couldn’t find anything bad about it. I know sometimes you have to pay a bit to get some education on a topic. So, I decided to try it.

I got the first lesson that night and I was super excited!

I sat down with the print out and ecstatically started reading. But then, I came to run-on-sentences, repeated words, and simple misspellings. (The misspellings could have been found if it had been read over. It was almost like the last edit was done by spell check, because some words were not the correct words.) These mistakes really bugged me.

I couldn’t read any further. And after writing Holly, to tell her about the misspellings. I didn’t hear back from her.

On her site it said that if you weren’t happy with the course you could cancel and get a refund for the segment that you were unhappy with. Since this was only the first lesson, I decided I couldn’t pay for something that was so unprofessionally put together. I can easily ignore a spelling mistake here and there, but when there are multiple and when it’s supposed to be a writing course teaching you to revise your novel into something publishable. I couldn’t trust the voice.

I would be so embarrassed if I had published and sold something that had so many mistakes. That’s why I wrote her, because I would have loved for a person to  alert me to a spelling problem, “Oh, I spotted this…” because any kind of mistake makes you look unprofessional. I would have been like “Oh, my goodness… thank you!!! I didn’t even see that! Thanks again!!!”. I didn’t get a response from her.

So, I wrote her and told her I would like to cancel the course.

Then, she wrote me that night and I was refunded the money. But, it was the unprofessional reply that really bothered me. I am sorry, but a person can boast all they like about their years of experience, but if it doesn’t show in the person’s writing, then that says something especially if that writing is full of mistakes and they expect to get paid for it.

I decided to write about this experience that I had for a few reasons…

Originally, I wasn’t going to write a review on this… but it has been bugging me for the past two days. I want you all to know it isn’t worth the price, for being so poorly edited and put together or for the attitude behind it. I only did one lesson- but why pay for anything less than professional.

I don’t usually like telling people about bad things or giving bad reviews, but I definitely do not recommend that course.

This is a timely article written by the amazing Michael Hyatt, on being professional and on how your brand can be hurt because of unprofessionalism.

Some things that I was reminded of:

  1. Make sure your writing is squeaky clean… without errors. (like so squeaky that a rubber ducky would be jealous.)
  2. Treat people online and offline professionally. (What you say could ruin your brand)

Please know this review was done in the best way possible! 

I want the best for all of you writers and don’t want you to be scammed.

Happy Writing & Editing & Revising! :)

3 thoughts on “Review: What is Professionalism…

  1. I found that a lot of those “professional” writing courses are actually written by cheap ghostwriters in non-English speaking countries. I understand that sometimes, you just don’t have the time… but as a professional writer, you should be writing your own stuff and proof-reading it as well.

  2. That’s a good review, Devin. A couple of good places to take writing classes are at the local adult schools or local community college; they have some great classes and they are usually much cheaper than the online classes. Whatever the case, you should do some research before investing a lot of money in classes and make sure there is something in writing that says your money will be refunded if you’re not happy with the class.

Leave a Reply

